2017 Print Futures Awards winners celebrate their success

2017 Print Futures Awards winners with Neil Lovell, The Printing Charity’s Chief Executive

The winners of this year’s Print Futures Awards received their awards, which are grants of up to £1,500 to help people aged 18 to 30 years pay for training, at an event kindly hosted by The Rt Hon. the Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde and organised by The Printing Charity at the House of Lords on 20 July.

Baroness Dean, The Printing Charity’s 2017 President, said: “The awards have gone from strength to strength, with a record 275 applications and 78 winners this year. It renews my faith in the industry to see so many talented young people joining a very old industry but one that is now wide-ranging with modern technologies.”

Lord Black of Brentwood, Executive Director of the Telegraph Media Group and President Emeritus of The Printing Charity, said: “The winners are coming into an industry with a bright future. The speed of change is not only exciting but producing so many opportunities across the media sector for people with dynamism and a commitment to lifelong learning.”

Neil Lovell, The Printing Charity’s Chief Executive, said: “Our reach this year has been incredibly diverse, with winners from the Shetlands to Cornwall and industry sectors ranging from pre-press and papermaking to graphic design. This fantastic result has been achieved in partnership with colleges, universities, industry and trade associations. We believe in the sector’s future and that is what the awards are all about.”

At the event, The Printing Charity’s Chairman, Jon Wright, paid tribute to Terry Ulrick, the driving force behind the Print Futures Awards, who sadly passed away this year. Setting up the awards in 2003 to help young people train to work in print, publishing, packaging and graphic arts was one of his proudest achievements in a 50-year-plus print career.

This year’s winners are: Ben Abbiss, Jennifer Acton, Mary Ashcroft, Dieter Ashton, Amy Banda, Josh Bartholomew, Phyllida Bluemel, Laura Borrelli, Lily Bowden, Julia Bradley, Catriona Brazendale, Lucy Bryant, Catherine Buckmaster, Jodie Burr, Samuel Callard, Fiona Callingham, Lauren Campbell, Michael Cassidy, Ben Chamberlain, Szu-yun Chang, Hamish Chapman, Katharine Charleson, Benjamin Charman, Yin Yu Chen, Daniel Clark, Charlotte Coldwell, Emily Collis, Charlotte Cox, Stephanie Cox, Nicola Crane, Sarah Crookes, Costanza De Luca, Camilla di Liberto, Cecilia Dinwoodie, Jay Drinkall, Talitha Duncan-Todd, Rhea Evers, Charlon Flynn, Brandon Hartley, Alexandra Holmes, Kayleigh Hope, Georgina Hopkins, Lucy Hutchinson, Rosemary Iles, Georgia Irving, Emma Irwin, Gabrielle Keepfer, Susannah Keogh, Laura Lindley, Hamza Loonat, Julia Marco Campmany, Hannah McAdams, Jonathan McIntosh, Jordan Mellor, Adam Miller, Samantha Miller, Sofia Niazi, Natasha Onwuemezi, Nina O’Reilly, Linlin Pan, Holly Patrick, Hayley Pearce, Stefan Pintea, Thomas Read, Áine Ryan, Alexander Sharp, Danielle Shaw, Molly Slight, Christopher Smith, Marcroy Smith, Yosef Smyth, Niamh Tierney, Louise Upton, Lucy Vallance, Sam Wallis, Charlotte Whiting, Eleanor Wyatt, and Maria Zygogianni. For more information about the winners, see https://www.theprintingcharity.org.uk/print-futures-awards-2017/print-futures-awards-2017-winners/

Industry recognises young persons of outstanding achievement in Westminster

The awarding of the Victor Watson Trophy for young persons of outstanding achievement took place during the 2017 All-Party Parliamentary Print Group Reception at the House of Lords on 4 July.

The award was created in memory of Victor Watson CBE – a leading figure of the industry who had a passion for encouraging young people. Victor’s own achievements were outstanding – as Chairman of Waddingtons he led the internationalisation of Monopoly. He was President of the BPIF, President of The Printing Charity and Master of the Worshipful Company of Makers of Playing Cards.

The BPIF, along with The Printing Charity and Worshipful Company of Makers of Playing Cards created the Victor Watson Trophy in his memory.

Nominations were received from across the country and the achievements were truly inspiring. They covered the spectrum of the industry – in print and allied trades. They were from large corporations, small businesses and some inspirational start-ups.

John Watson OBE, brother of the late Victor Watson, presented the winner’s Trophy to Lauren Sharples, a Project Manager from Ryedale Group. Lauren now has the opportunity to apply for a £1,500 bursary from The Printing Charity.

Lauren said on winning the award, “I was absolutely delighted just to be nominated for such a prestigious award, to actually win was mind-blowing. I can see that there are lots of other dedicated young people in print so it’s a real honour and a privilege to be recognised. I love what I do, it’s not always easy and moments like this help bring perspective. Thank you so much to the BPIF, The Printing Charity and The Worshipful Company of Makers of Playing Cards.”

James Buffoni, Managing Director of Ryedale Group, congratulated Lauren after she received the award at the House of Lords: “All of us at Ryedale Group are delighted that Lauren has been acknowledged by her industry for her outstanding achievement and we all congratulate her on winning such a prestigious award. As a family business we are very pleased to work with, develop and celebrate capable young professionals such as Lauren who can evidently cut the mustard amongst the best young people in the industry.”

Highly commended for the Victor Watson Trophy was Josh Levitt-Thomas from Hobbs, who said, “It was a great privilege to be considered for the Victor Watson Trophy and to be invited to an incredible event to receive my certificate will be a moment I will cherish and talk about.”

Robert McClements, CEO of the BPIF’s special interest group, CDi Yorkshire (Creative and Digital Industries Yorkshire), said, “Organising the Trophy showed me how Victor’s extraordinary goodwill prevails. It was a privilege to work with him and this is a most appropriate reminder of the great man.”

The BPIF and The Printing Charity would like to congratulate Lauren, Josh and all nominees.

SAXOPRINT hosts visit by four LCC students

(L to R) Szu-yun Chang, Yin Yu Chen, Costanza De Luca, Linlin Pan


SAXOPRINT recently hosted a visit by four London College of Communication students to its print facility. The trip was part of SAXOPRINT’s ongoing support of The Printing Charity’s work helping young people gain practical industry experience.

Szu-yun Chang, Yin Yu Chen and Linlin Pan jointly produced the winning design for The Printing Charity’s 2016 Annual Report, while Costanza De Luca has designed this year’s event brochure for the charity’s Print Futures Awards.

The students were given a tour of the facility by Phil Foster, Senior Key Account Manager at SAXOPRINT, showing them the complete print cycle from pre-press and plate imaging to printing and finishing.

Phil Foster said: “It was a real pleasure to accompany four such enthusiastic young people to our headquarters and show them around our state of the art production facility. I believe it gave them a real insight into how their amazing winning designs are transformed into quality printed products.

“The standard of entries to the competition was very high, which is very encouraging for the future of design and print. SAXOPRINT would like to wish all the students from LCC, who entered the competition, all the best for what we are sure will be very bright futures.”

Neil Lovell, The Printing Charity’s Chief Executive, says: “The trip was a unique part of our design competition with LCC students to produce our Annual Report and Print Futures Awards brochure, and was a fantastic opportunity given to the students by SAXOPRINT to see a printing facility in action.”