The British Printing Industries Federation (BPIF), Oxford Brookes University, The Publishers Association, The Bookseller and The BookMachine are calling for entries to the British Book Design and Production Awards 2018. These are the only industry awards to promote and celebrate the excellence and craftsmanship of the British book design and production industry.

All books published between 1 July 2017 and 29 June 2018 are eligible for entry in this year’s awards.  There are 18 categories that reflect the many various forms books can take including;

  • Literature
  • Digital
  • Limited Edition
  • Educational
  • Children’s
  • Trade
  • Self-Publishing


There is also a category for aspiring students to enter their work, with the chance to win a cheque for £500 as well as a short internship with a leading designer, publisher or printer.

Industry experts from the areas of design, publishing and production will judge the entries and stamp the book that outshines the rest with the title of ‘Book of the Year’.

The deadline for entries is Friday 29 June 2018.  The awards will be presented at a dazzling ceremony on 22 November 2018 at the Montcalm London Marble Arch Hotel.

For further details on the awards please go to or contact Heena Bulsara at the BPIF on 020 7915 8338 or